Good governance, technology are transforming India at 'unprecedented scale', says Narendra Modi


"Both the leaders said scourge of terrorism has to be dealt with effectively".

Tusk noted that the two regional blocs can work together particularly through information-sharing to counter terrorist attacks as well as exchange of best practices in dealing with violent extremism.

"The ASEAN-US partnership plays an increasing role in addressing transnational challenges. We reviewed the ground covered on various aspects of India-Japan ties and discussed ways to deepen cooperation between our economies and people", Modi tweeted.

Philippine President Rodrigo Duterte said on Tuesday that his country remained committed to building a strong and resilient Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN).

It was reported that close to seven million - or two-thirds of about 10 million worldwide migrants living and working in Asean - come from within the region. The summit is part of the 31st ASEAN Summit and Related meetings.

China claims sovereignty over all of SCS, a huge source of hydrocarbons.

Modi and Duterte resolved to expand bilateral ties.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi said ASEAN began in times of a great global divide, but today, it is shining as a beacon of hope.

"The befitting theme of "Shared Values, Common Destiny" for our 25th anniversary celebrations has been jointly celebrated with a number of commemorative activities. We seek to enhance our cooperation in non-traditional security issues through the framework of the ASEAN Senior Officials' Meeting on Transnational Crime (SOMTC) Plus US Consultations, ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF), and ASEAN Defence Ministers' Meeting (ADMM) Plus, and the East Asia Summit (EAS), including through training courses and exercises", the statement read.

The trade between India and ASEAN nations stood at $71 billion in 2016-17 and comprises 10.85 percent of India's total trade with the world. The participating members of the 12th East Asia Summit are Australia, Brunei, Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, New Zealand, Philippines, Russia, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand, the United States and Vietnam.