Mahesh Babu bags eight Nandi Award


He earlier won Best Actor for "Nijam", "Atadu" and "Dookudu".

At last, Nandi awards are announced for three years for 2014, 2015 and 2016. For that reason, AP Govt picked Mahesh as Best Actor for Srimathudu, a better choice anyway and gave Best Director award to Trivikram Srinivas for S/o Satyamurthy.

The Government of Andhra Pradesh announced the Nandi State Award winners for 2014, 2015, and 2016 on November 14. While most of the awards were bagged by Telugu industry members, Malayalam superstar Mohanlal too won an award to his kitty. The National award jury considered his performance in Janatha Garage along with Pulimurugan and Munthirivallikal Thalirkkumbol for bestowing him a special jury award previous year. As expected, Baahubali: The Beginning was adjudged the Best Film of the year 2015. Young Tiger Jr. NTR's Janatha Garage has been declared the best popular feature film providing wholesome entertainment. Of course not many contenders for best children film category though there are a few contenders for best child artists category. But now, the government has announced the big winners of the year 2014, 2015 and 2016. The award also helped him to equal Prakash Raj's record of top Indian actor with maximum national film awards (5 awards).

On the other hand, Legend's leading lady Geetanjali walked with the honour of best actress for the year 2014 while Anushka bagged the best actress award for Rudhramadevi and Size Zero in 2015.

Naga Chaitanya won the title for the year 2014 for his performance in the film Manam.

Legend has been chosen as the Best Film of 2014; Bahubali, of 2015; and Pelli Choopulu, of 2016. K. Raghavendra Rao won the award for the year 2015, while Rajinikanth bagged the award for the year 2016.