Win 1 for the skippers: Molitor, Lovullo honored


Lovullo is only the eighth skipper to capture a Manager of the Year Award in his first full season as a Major League manager - but this is actually the fourth consecutive season with a first-year victor. In his first full season as a big league skipper, Arizona reached the playoffs a year after going 69-93. After losing 103 games in 2016, Molitor helped orchestrate a quick turnaround as the Twins went 85-77 in 2017, good for the second AL Wild Card. The NL favorites are Arizona's Tory Lovullo, Colorado's Bud Black and Dodgers' Dave Roberts.

How's that for a rookie campaign?

Lovullo guided the Diamondbacks to a 93-69 record in his first season as a major-league manager. "Minnesota last had a Manager of the Year in 2010, when Ron Gardenhire won in the Twins" last playoff season; their other Manager of the Year was Tom Kelly in 1991. He joins Kirk Gibson in 2011 and Bob Melvin in 2007.

Roberts received five first-place votes while Black and Counsell received three apiece.

The Diamondbacks improved by 24 games over 2016 in Lovullo's first season. Updates with Molitor winning AL Manager of the Year. Molitor and Frank Robinson are the only Hall of Fame players to win Manager of the Year Awards.

This marks the third Manager of the Year honor for both the Twins and D-backs franchises.

Molitor received 18 first-place votes, six second-place votes, and four third-place votes.

Molitor won the honor Tuesday in voting by members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America. The Cleveland Indians' Terry Francona, the 2016 victor, was the runner-up with 11 first-place votes. Third-place finisher A.J. Hinch of the Astros had one first-place vote, 13 second-place votes, and 12 third-place votes.