Dissent in Congress's state units could impact Rahul Gandhi's 2019 goals


During this stay in Karnataka, Gandhi will be travelling across seven districts in Bombay-Karnataka region, which played a key role in Congress's win in the 2013 state polls.

Amid unprecedented security, Mr Gandhi arrived at Gol Gumbaz with water resource minister MB Patil and Congress general secretary and Karnataka in-charge, KC Venugopal, and shook hands with some among the cheering crowd. In his 3-day timetable, Amit Shah is also expected to meet sugarcane farmers who have faced distress with the water-intensive crop in a state that has been through three successive years of drought. Gandhi even ran a few metres with the participants. The Karnataka Assembly polls will be held for 224 seats.

Gandhi said Parliament was based on the values preached by the 12th century philosopher Basavanna, considered to be the founder of the Lingayat sect.

Congress president Rahul Gandhi, during an election roadshow in Shillong on Wednesday, called Prime Minister Narendra Modi "an instrument of corruption". "The last time I was in Karnataka, I went to the Anubhava Mantapa and realised that Basavanna's thinking is there in our Constitution", the Congress chief said, while addressing the Janashirvada Yatra at Chikkapadasalagi village in Bagalkot District. 390 crore, involving a Delhi based jeweller. Yesterday, PM Modi finally broke his silence over the recent cases of bank fraud and warned of stringent action against those involved in financial irregularities.

The BJP chief also assured the farmer that the defunct sugar mill in Bidar would be started again, once the BJP government comes in the state.

The AICC President claimed that the Siddaramaiah government in Karnataka had kept up its assurances and ensured an inclusive growth of the State taking all sections of the society. He said the state government was not letting the benefits of various central schemes reach the right beneficiaries.

"The sugarcane farmers are paid their dues within 90 days in Uttar Pradesh".