India post 172 for7 in the decider


The other captains to have received the mace are Steve Waugh, Ricky Ponting, Michael Clarke, Steve Smith (all Australia), Andrew Strauss (England), Graeme Smith, Hashim Amla (both South Africa) and Misbah-ul-Haq (Pakistan). That's what Indian team does.

Spurred on by a superb powerplay with the ball on a sluggish wicket at Cape Town, India raced to a seven-run win over the hosts in the final match of the tour and took home the T20I trophy winning the series 2-1. South Africa will be delighted with this wicket.

India's only failure in South Africa came in the fourth ODI, when South Africa won a rain-shortened game.

He did not complain about the seam-friendly Test pitches prepared for South Africa's fast bowlers, even though ICC match referee Chris Broad rated the pitches for the first two Tests "average" and his successor Andy Pycroft condemned the pitch used for the third Test at the Wanderers as "poor".

When Lizelle Lee's 13-ball stay was ended by Dhar, South Africa were in all sorts of trouble.

India's experience and youthful energy helped them power past the Proteas in the Women's T20 series decider at Newlands on Saturday. After a narrow 1-2 loss in the Test series, India played magnificently well in the ODI series to win the 6-match series 5-1. The first instance was against Zimbabwe in 2013. The series is now locked at 1-1 after South Africa won the second T20 by 6 wickets. Just when it seemed India would coast home to victory, debutant Christiaan Jonker played a blinder which nearly took his team in sight of victory. A single was on, but Dhawan wanted a double and Dala effected a direct hit before Dhawan could complete his return to the striker's end.

The two have replaced the experienced duo of R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja who were not much effective outside the subcontinent. Skipper JP Duminy has also regained his touch and is looking very dengerous now.

For India, fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar picked up two wickets while Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur and Suresh Raina got a wicket each.

South Africa changed their bowling around quite a bit and Duminy (0-22) bowled a tight first spell that dropped India's run-rate down to 8.5 an over before the half-way stage of their innings. The Indian pacer gave away nine runs in the first four deliveries but clawed his way back with some spectacular bowling, sealing a seven-run victory for India. Then, debutant Christiaan Jonker and old-hand Farhaan Behardien plundered 51 runs in the last three-and-a-half overs but could not get the hosts over the line.

Rohit Sharma vs Junior Dala quickly turned into a one-sided contest as the South African seamer dismissed Rohit yet another time (the third in this series in as many games). Kohli's scores in the series were 112, 46*, 160*, 75, 36 & 129*.