WhatsApp has again changed its 'message deletion' feature


WhatsApp's "Delete for Everyone" feature has been criticised ever since its launch.Earlier WhatsApp allowed users to delete messages within 7 minutes, which it recently extended to roughly 68 minutes.

Since WhatsApp introduced the "Delete for Everyone" feature back in November 2017, the recipient can understand that a message has been deleted as there is a prompt in its place with the "This message has been deleted" tag.

That's according to some code digging by WABetaInfo, based on the latest beta version of the app for iOS. "A new WhatsApp for iOS update (2.18.31) is available on AppStore". Report states that WhatsApp has now improved its maths so it now finds a message in the database having the same ID as that of the evoke message request, it first goes through the data of the message saved in the database. The company has noticed that some of the users are using the modified version of the app and are deleting their 3 year old messages.

WhatsApp is silently a adding a new "Block Revoke request" feature to stop misuse of the Delete for Everyone option.

An hour means you now have far longer to delete messages sent by mistake, or can wipe out entire conversations from a friend's phone.

Business Report earlier this month reported that there is a way to read messages on WhatsApp without the sender knowing. It then checks the date related information of the message saved in the database. This ensures that nobody can tamper with the feature to delete messages for everyone. With the new updated algorithm, WhatsApp will now delete only those messages which have been sent within 24 hours. The update is a step to curb exploitation of a feature that was deemed useful by those using the platform.