Shiv Sena slams BJP over Narayan Rane's Rajya Sabha candidature


Farook of the JD (S) has already filed his nomination papers.

Rejecting the BJP's allegations, Congress leader Shaktisinh Gohil, who was present on behalf of the party during the scrutiny process, said that Rathwa, who has not been a minister since 2009, has submitted "notarised" certificates.

Among the seven nominations accepted was BJP's dummy candidate Rajnikant Patel.

The BJP has fielded Union ministers Purshottam Rupala, Mansukh Mandavia, and former MLA Kiritsinh Rana, while the Congress nominated Amiben Yagnik and Naran Rathwa.

The BJP's complaint today followed its whip Suresh Angadi's complaint to the Lok Sabha Speaker, alleging "gross irregularities" in granting several no objection certificates given to Rathwa.

Ketkar may well now be haunted by visions of the defection drama that preceded last year's Gujarat Rajya Sabha elections, where Sonia Gandhi's political secretary Ahmed Patel just scraped through.

A total of seven candidates have filed nomination papers for four seats falling vacant from the state for March 23 Rajya Sabha elections.

"Chief minister Devendra Fadnavis has started calling the disgruntled among our legislators", a Congress politician said from Mumbai.

Hussain, a Youth Congress leader, obtained doctorate in worldwide politics from the Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi. "There was no question of fielding another candidate in my place", he said.

Mumbai: Slamming the BJP for fielding Congress turncoat Narayan Rane as one of its Rajya Sabha candidate, the Shiv Sena on Tuesday said the chief of one party can not become a member of another.

The BJP candidates in the fray are Union Finance Minister Jaitley, Ashok Bajpai, Vijay Pal Singh Tomar, Sakal Deep Rajbhar, Kanta Kardam, Anil Jain, Harnath Singh Yadav, Anil Kumar Agarwal, Salil Bishnoi, Vidyasagar Sonkar and partys national spokesman GVL Narasimha Rao. Asked to comment on BJP's decision to introduce a third candidate, GPCC chief Bharatsinh Solanki said, "BJP believes in horsetrading".

In the 182-member House, the ruling BJP has 99 MLAs while the opposition Congress 77. Each candidate requires 42 votes to get elected. Also everyone want to contest elections if given an opportunity, hence they are also contesting. "The Sena leadership was not ready to give us its additional votes. Our MLAs are with us but BJP will have to take care of its MLAs as many are dissatisfied at not being given a portfolio". The Returning Officer eventually ruled in Rathwa's favour and accepted his nomination form.