UP, Bihar bypolls results today: Prestige battle for Yogi Adityanath, Nitish Kumar


The media has been barred from counting centres.

Gorakhpur is the parliamentary constituency and stronghold of Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath. In UP capital Lucknow, the state assembly was adjourned for 10 minutes as Samajwadi Party legislators protested. The Bharatiya Janata Party's Kaushlendra Singh Patel was second. There are a total of around 29 rounds in the constituency. Bye-elections were held in Gorakhpur, Phulpur and Araria Lok Sabha seats, and Jehanabad and Bhabua Assembly seats on Sunday. Saffron party's lead in Gorakhpur reduced to 2,000.

- Gorakhpur: BJP- 15577, SP- 13911.

Meanwhile, results continue to pour in from other seats. In Uttar Pradesh, the bypolls had to be conducted after CM Yogi Adityanath and Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya vacated their seats in Gorakhpur and Phulpur, respectively, on taking office. The BSP did not field any candidate for the seats and vowed to work to defeat the BJP.

Demographics in this constituency favors the opposition combine due to the presence of almost 2.5 lakh voters belonging to the Muslim community.

The elections are considered to be crucial before the Lok Sabha polls in 2019. "We have spoken to SP and have decided that we will support their Lok Sabha candidate during the voting and SP will support our Rajya Sabha candidate in return", BSP supremo Mayawati had said ahead of the bypolls.

The Congress is fighting on its own and has named Surahita Kareem as its candidate.

Counting is also on for two Assembly seats in Bihar.

In 2014, BJP had won both the seats with over 3 lakh vote margin.

The only Lok Sabha seat that is seeing counting today in the state, Arariya, has seen the lead flip flop several time. Upendra Dutt Shukla is in the fray for the seat this time. In Gorakhpur seat in Uttar Pradesh, there was a voter turnout of 43% and in Phulpur, 37.4% of the electorate turned up to vote.