Chebukati announces way forward after 3 IEBC commissioners resigned


Three Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Commissioners have announced their resignation from the agency citing lack of confidence in Chairperson Wafula Chebukati. "Instead, under his leadership the commission's boardroom has become a venue for peddling money, misinformation, grounds for brewing mistrust and a space for scrambling for individual glory and credit", said Ms. Mwachanya as she read the joint statement.

Last year's election re-run raised fears of a return to political violence in Kenya where more than 1 200 people were killed after a disputed poll in 2007, although President Uhuru Kenyatta and opposition leader Raila Odinga appeared to put their fierce rivalry behind them last month.

Vice-chairwoman consulate Nkatha is among those who resigned.

"Chairman is back and in office".

After the resignation of three commissioners IEBC is now left with the Chiar and only two commissioners, Prof.

Mwachanya blames politicians for the commission's woes.

In his affidavit, Chiloba had told the court that the decision to have him go on compulsory leave was prejudicial since he was not accorded an opportunity to defend himself.

"My call for IEBC Commissioners to resign is informed by recent wrangles linked to the fight for tenders plus control and manipulation of IEBC staff", Murkomen said on Twitter.

Technically, the Chebukati-led team can not conduct any business due to lack of quorum.

"Akombe resigned, three more have resigned saying Chebukati is always at loggerheads with the secretariat and other commissioners".

Moving forward, Kega said the number of commissioners serving in the electoral commission should be reduced to five.

The officers said whereas the commission is supposed to function as a single unit, Chebukati has created an "us versus them", "Commissioners versus Secretariat", and "Chair versus CEO" situation, reiterating that in their view a failure by any part of a unit of the organization is a failure of the entire commission.