IPL 2018: Now or never for Mumbai indians


On a night that belonged to two batsmen who had donned the opposition jersey earlier in the Indian Premier League, Mumbai Indians emerged victor to remain in the hunt for a playoff spot.

Mumbai Indians kept their winning momentum going in the Indian Premier League on Sunday as they beat Kolkata Knight Riders by 13 runs to keep their campaign alive in the tournament.

In the match played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, the Mumbai Indians team made 181 runs in 20 overs setting a 182 runs target for Kolkata Knight Riders in 20 overs. With 4 wins and 6 losses out of their 10 games, Mumbai Indians still stand a slim chance of qualifying to the playoffs. Hardik scored 35 off 20 balls and infused some life into the otherwise drab scoring of Mumbai.

Pandya gave only 19 runs in four overs and picked two important wickets at crucial junctures of the inning to help his team emerge victorious.

By the final over, KKR needed 23 runs and Krunal Pandya defended them comfortably with the innings ending at 168 for six. While Robin Uthappa (54) scored a free flowing half century, Nitish Rana (31) could not build on to the start that he got.

The Mumbai bowlers choked the runs thereafter and even though captain Dinesh Karthik scored 36 not out off 26 balls, it wasn't enough as KKR (168/6) suffered their fifth defeat in 10 games. It was also the seventh consecutive win for Mumbai over Kolkata. They hit seven fours and three sixes in the first six overs.

Karthik has amassed 280 runs in nine matches but is still outside the top-10 list of leading run-getters and he's followed by Chris Lynn and Andre Russell, with 260 and 207 runs respectively, to their credit so far this season. The openers fall led to KKR bowlers making a strong comeback. The away team conceded only 43 runs from overs 9-15, bringing the run rate down drastically.

A 91-run opening stand between Suryakumar Yadav (59) and Evin Lewis (43) set the Indians on their way, the pair peppering the boundary in the opening power play. Hardik struck two fours in the final over with J P Duminy (13 not out) at the other end.

Andre Russell and Sunil Narine bowled well for KKR, scalping 2 wickets each.