Phil Mickelson apologises for putting moving ball

Share

I've had multiple times where I've wanted to do that.

"He just wasn't up to the task that day and he lost his head and walked up around and hit the ball while it was still on the move".

He carded a respectable one-under-par 69 on Sunday, a 12-shot improvement on his third round but of largely academic interest after Saturday's performance. An announcer for Fox said Mickelson "snapped".

He chatted with his family after emerging from the scoring room, and then signed autographs before walking away.

The report said Mickelson's wife, Amy Mickelson, said her husband had offered to disqualify himself from the event to USGA president Mike Davis.

After the round, Mickelson said he knew exactly what he was doing and that he didn't mean any disrespect, even telling people who were offended to "toughen up". "Just say, 'Listen, I can't believe I just did that.' It's a pretty heavy penalty, and he doesn't need to be crucified on top of that".

The five-time major champion let his frustrations gets the best of him on the 13th hole.

Later, after acknowledging he was using Rule 14-5 to his advantage, Mickelson called USGA officials for clarification on the rule after hearing suggestions he should be disqualified from the U.S. Open.

He finished in a tie for 48th place, 15 shots behind compatriot Brooks Koepka, who defended his title.

"Phil knows the rules", Spieth told the media in Cromwell, Conn. "I thought there was a massive overreaction to it". Ultimately, he got the ball in the hole, but had to take a two-stroke penalty for hitting a moving ball, He ended up with a ten on the hole.

"You know it's not his finest moment but hopefully he'll learn from it".

"That's where we clarified that, 'Phil, you actually made a stroke at a moving ball, and so we have to apply that rule.' That's different than if he had deliberately just stopped the ball or whacked it in another direction or something like that".

"When I came back in, I saw what happened".

The Englishman told Omnisport: "He was making a statement that, "This is ridiculous and I'm going to show you how ridiculous this is". It became clear over time that this was not necessarily the case, and that Mickelson simply lost it in the moment (I think we've all been there as golfers).

Share