This Indian politician to attend Imran Khan’s swearing-in ceremony


PTI chairman and prime minister-in-waiting Imran Khan, PPP co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari, chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, former prime minister Yousaf Raza Gillani and PML-N president Shehbaz Sharif were among those who took the oath.

The assembly session began with the MNA-elects standing up for the national anthem and a recitation of the Holy Quran. The party has now mustered enough numbers in the National Assembly to elect Khan as premier, but formation of an impressive cabinet and economic team still remains a challenge for it. The newly-elected speaker will hold a similar secret balloting process for the election of the deputy speaker and after his or her election the latter will take the oath.

Ahead of Imran Khan's swearing-in ceremony as Pakistan's new prime minister, Indian High Commissioner Ajay Bisaria and deputy high commissioner JP Singh met with Imran Khan.

The PTI's tally has reached 158 members after the joining of nine independents and bagging 33 seats reserved for women and minorities. The two parties have chose to field joint candidates for posts of speaker, deputy speaker and prime minister.

According to Punjab's Information and Public Relations Department, Khan also thanked Sidhu for praising him in a press conference on August 2.

Sidhu, who has more than three decade's association with Imran as a cricketer and commentator, said he got the invite in a personal capacity. This means that the total strength of the house will be reduced from 342 to 336 after the seats are vacated.

Rasul Bukhsh Rais, political analyst, said that alliance of the opposition parties is temporary and they will not be able to create any major trouble for the government as long as the PTI keeps working along with its coalition partners. Reportedly, several leaders are in the running for the coveted seat, which is second only to the premier in importance.

The PTI leadership has been trying to build a coalition for the federal government since the July 25 polls as the party failed to win a simple majority to form the government.