How to unsend messages on Facebook Messenger

Share

Within hours, Facebook announced an unsend feature was in the works for users as well.

The move comes after TechCrunch reported that founder Mark Zuckerberg had retracted Facebook messages from recipients - revealing that the feature existed, but was not available to all users.

How you can get it: Facebook told The Verge that the new feature will be available on the latest versions of Messenger for iOS and Android starting today. Once complete, everyone in your chat will be notified the message has been deleted. "Tapping 'remove for everyone" will permanently delete the message from your chat and the receiving party's chat.

Users can also remove messages just for yourself, you can do so anything by selecting "Remove for You". So, if you've sent a message or photo in error, you can now reduce the risk of it landing in the wrong hands.

Facebook first rolled out the capacity to manage Messenger, Facebook and Instagram interactions in the Page Manager app back in 2016, with a unified notifications stream across the three apps. Once "removed", the message will not reappear in the draft space.

In his long post, Zuckerberg notes how the initial years of Facebook were filled with doubts on its survival. "You will have up to 10 minutes to remove a message after it is sent". "These included limiting the retention period for Mark's messages in Messenger".

A new Facebook Messenger feature has been rolled out enabling users to "unsend" messages.

Prior to this announcement, Facebook began 2019 with news of additional changes to its messaging services which would see the infrastructure of its subsidiary apps - Messenger, WhatsApp and Instagram - linked to allow messages to be sent across the platforms.

"The feature will add Instagram Direct messaging to a page owner's messaging inbox within the Facebook Pages Manager app on web and mobile".

Share